"Vineyard Theatre is one of the great Off-Broadway incubators of new American plays and musicals."

Paula Vogel Playwriting Award


Since 2008, The Vineyard has granted the Paula Vogel Playwriting Award annually to a gifted early-career playwright to write and develop new work while in residence at The Vineyard. Named after Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright, teacher, and longtime Vineyard artist Paula Vogel, the award includes a stipend, work space, dramaturgical support, and collaborative resources to develop a new work or works at The Vineyard over the course of a season. Recipients of the award include:

  • 2008 – Tarell Alvin McCraney (The Vineyard’s WIG OUT!, The Brother/Sister Plays)
  • 2009 – Rajiv Joseph (The Vineyard’s The North Pool, Bengal Tiger At The Baghdad Zoo)
  • 2010 – Kara Lee Corthron (Julius BY DesignAlicegraceanon)
  • 2011 – Branden Jacobs-Jenkins (Pulitzer Prize finalist for The Vineyard’s Gloria, Appropriate)
  • 2012 – Erika Sheffer (Russian Transport, The Fundamentals)
  • 2013 – Christopher Chen (The Hundred Flowers ProjectInto The Numbers)
  • 2014 – Clare Barron (You Got Older, Baby Screams Miracle)
  • 2015 – Boo Killebrew (Miller, Mississippi; The Play About My Dad)
  • 2016 – Kate Tarker (Thunderbodies, Laura And The Sea)
  • 2017 – Antoinette Nwandu (Pass Over, Breach)
  • 2018 – Jeremy O. Harris (The Vineyard’s “Daddy”, Slave Play)
  • 2019 – Charly Evon Simpson (Jump, Behind The Sheet)
  • 2020 – John J. Caswell, Jr. (Wet Brain, Man Cave)