Emerging Artists Celebration 2021


Featuring appearances by:

  • Paula Vogel
  • Emily Davis and Tina Satter from Is This A Room
  • 2020-2021 Paula Vogel Playwriting Award Recipient John J. Caswell, Jr., who will lead a Q&A with Mr. Haddad

Artistic Directors Douglas Aibel and Sarah Stern are proud to announce that Ryan J. Haddad (bio below) is the recipient of the 2021-2022 Paula Vogel Playwriting Award. Mr. Haddad will be presented with the award at The Vineyard’s annual Emerging Artists Celebration.

This year’s event will take place at the Broken Shaker at Freehand New York on the rooftop of the Freehand Hotel in Gramercy.

Space is limited for this intimate event.
Tickets for this year’s Emerging Artists Celebration are $250 for VIP tickets, $150 for event tickets, and $75 for Early Bird tickets (through 11/1/2021 only).

The VIP package includes:

  • a pair of tickets to any show in the Vineyard 2021-2022 Season
  • Signed program from our Broadway production of Is This A Room.

Vintners and donors to The Vineyard’s 2021-2022 season at $2,500+ will receive a complimentary VIP ticket for this event

Please click the above “BUY TICKETS” tab to purchase tickets for this event.

Sponsorships are available starting at $5,000, and include:

  • Admission for ten to the event
  • Brand recognition at the event and on promotional materials
  • VIP party packages
  • An exclusive play-reading book club experience with Vineyard Theatre Artistic Directors.

Contact Director of Institutional Advancement Penn Genthner at pgenthner@vineyardtheatre.org.

The Emerging Artists Celebration is a celebration of Vineyard Theatre’s ongoing artistic development and education programs, which give artists support and resources to develop new plays and musicals, and offer free arts learning opportunities to local public high school students.

For more information, call Penn Genthner at (646) 931-4742 or email development@vineyardtheatre.org.

Ryan J. Haddad is an actor, playwright, and autobiographical performer based in New York. His acclaimed solo play Hi, Are You Single? was presented in The Public Theater’s Under the Radar Festival and subsequently produced at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company in association with IAMA. His plays include Good Time Charlie (Berkeley Rep Ground Floor, Public Theater Emerging Writers Group), Dark Disabled Stories (in development with The Bushwick Starr), Hold Me in the Water (commissioned by Noor Theatre), and My Straighties (Ars Nova/ANT Fest). He recurs as Andrew on the Netflix series “The Politician.” and has been seen in the cabaret show Falling for Make Believe at Joe’s Pub/Under the Radar. He most recently wrote the libretto for an episode of Boston Lyric Opera’s streaming miniseries desert in and contributed as a writer/performer to Signature Theatre’s The Watering Hole, created by Lynn Nottage and Miranda Haymon. Haddad is a recipient of IAMA Theatre Company’s Shonda Rhimes Unsung Voices Playwriting Commission and Rising Phoenix Repertory’s Cornelia Street American Playwriting Award. His essays have been published in the New York Times, Out Magazine, and American Theatre. He is an alum of The Public Theater’s Emerging Writers Group, a 2020 Disability Futures Fellow, and a former Queer|Art Performance and Playwriting Fellow, under the mentorship of Moe Angelos. Haddad can be found on social media @ryanjhaddad and ryanjhaddad.com.


The Emerging Artists Celebration is a project of the Vineyard Council, an active group of Vineyard friends and advocates: George Alexander, Sergia Cruz, Meredith Marks, Craig Manzino, Kate Mulgrew, Kate Robards, David Thompson, and Sophie von Haselberg.

Past recipients are Tarell Alvin McCraney (The Vineyard’sWig Out!, Moonlight), Rajiv Joseph (The Vineyard’s The North Pool, Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo), Kara Lee Corthron (Julius By Design, Alicegraceanon), Branden Jacobs-Jenkins (Pulitzer Prize finalist for The Vineyard’s Gloria, Appropriate), Erika Sheffer (Russian Transport, The Fundamentals), Christopher Chen (Caught, You Mean To Do Me Harm), Clare Barron (Dance Nation, You Got Older), Boo Killebrew (Miller, Mississippi; “Mrs. America”), Kate Tarker (Thunderbodies, Laura And The Sea), Antoinette Nwandu (Pass Over; Tuvalu Or, The Saddest Song, in development at The Vineyard), Jeremy O. Harris (The Vineyard’s “Daddy”, Slave Play), Charly Evon Simpson (The Vineyard’s upcoming sandblasted, Behind The Sheet), and John J. Caswell, Jr. (Wet Brain, Man Cave).


All proceeds will benefit The Vineyard’s artistic and education programming in the 2020-2021 Season. The Paula Vogel Playwriting Award is generously underwritten by the Tournesol Project.

Read The Press Release: 2021 Paula Vogel Award – Vineyard Theatre

Share →